This week, I finished the sad portrait after much frustration over where to place the two feathers on the left. Compositionally, they were always in a very bothersome position. But without them, the right side looked heavy and the left looked empty. In the end, I think I fixed it. We’ll see in critique, anyway. Here’s that one:

4

Then I printed out the two finished products to see how they looked. I’d say they would look better if the printer would cooperate. I didn’t want to pay UPS to print these since it’s only a midterm critique, so I did it here on campus. But that means I spent over an hour adjusting colors and changing settings to try to get them to print with the faces in greyscale and the rest in color. The end result is that the printer wants to print one page with yellow skin, and one page with greyscale skin. I finally gave up and settled for that.

I also started my next drawing. I got the outline and base coloring done, and even produced a very compressed video from it. My computer is currently working very hard to save that file, and it predicts a 4 hour wait, so I’ll just post the Youtube link for that in here later tomorrow…

Hours thus far: 71.5